I want to go to Amanda Palmer’s concert, but I have no friends. Basically.

Right now, Amanda Palmer and the Grand Theft Orchestra are rocking out for New Year’s Eve, in crazy purple sparkly costumes. And thousands of people are there with her, at the concert, in their best glitter-filled, madness-fueled purple-hued costumes.

I’m not there. I want to be, but I’m not.

I’m only 15. That’s not exactly the average age of Amanda’s fans. But I do really want to see her perform, so I want a ticket to her concert in Sydney, on the 14th September, 2013. But my problem? I have no one to go with. It’s not the price – that’s a small issue, as it would only cost me about $70. No, the problem is that I want someone to share the music with, and yes, to help me, because I’ve never been to a standing-room-only-type concert before – I’ve only been to a Taylor Swift concert with Brooke, because she loves her. That was at the Allphones Arena and it had cinema-like seating. It was pretty awesome, as it was my first concert and Taylor does put on a good show, with fireworks and things like that.

But I love Amanda’s music far more than T-Swizzle’s, and her fans are an entirely different group – no screaming tweens, but definitely more of the struggling-with-mental-disorders and twenty-somethings. So it would, I’m sure, be an entirely different experience – and quite likely one I preferred. I don’t know.

The thing is, I’m only 15. I’d be 15 and 11 months exactly when I went, but that’s still pretty young for such an event – I don’t know if my parents would let me go. Most likely, they’d be fine with me going, but not alone. Which leads to the question: who to go with?

None of my friends like her. I don’t want to go with my parents (no offence guys). As far as I know, none of my cousins like her. In fact, none of them even know her except from me. I’m changing schools – so maybe I’ll find someone there. But it’s unlikely, isn’t it?

I’ve been isolated in my tastes for a while now – to be honest, ever since I started actually developing my taste in pop culture it’s been a little different to everyone else’s. Oh, not in everything, but in some things. For instance, my current top albums would include Amanda Palmer, fun. (Aim and Ignite! oh yeah!), P!nk, Owl City and the Dresden Dolls. A mix of mainstream and alternative.

In terms of hobbies, I’m different from my friends. I spend time on the internet watching Tomska videos, reading blogs, browsing meme sites, reading webcomics. My favourite TV shows are Sherlock and Doctor Who. None of my friends share any of these hobbies. I’m used to it, I don’t mind too much. But when something happens where I do kinda need a partner? I’m sad because I’m different.

And that’s why I wish I had a friend who loved Amanda Palmer as much as I do right now – because I really want to go, and I think the atmosphere would be improved for me by a friend, because I know I’d be freaking out too much otherwise. And so I’m sad that no one else likes her, and this was meant to be an interesting pursuit of how other people’s likes affect out enjoyment of things, but I’m not eloquent enough to do that. So you’re stuck with this instead. I hope you like it.

PS. Despite not having a friend to go with, and not having a ticket, and the concert being in 9 months time, I’m sitting here planning an outfit anyway. Is it acceptable to just try and dress like Amanda Palmer? Will my mother let me wear that kind of thing? How am I meant to do that anyway? Will Etsy be my best friend in this?

The answers to these questions are I hope so, hopefully, with luck and most likely, respectively.

2 thoughts on “I want to go to Amanda Palmer’s concert, but I have no friends. Basically.

  1. Amanda is amazing. I discovered the Dresden Dolls when I was in college, and I’ve been a fan since. You should go ahead and by the ticket. I had lots of friends flake on me at your age…and learned to do things, and have adventures on my own….and Etsy is always a good idea

    • She is awesome! And thanks for your advice – I think I really will go, I’m sure it’ll be amazing. As for my friends…well, they’re the ones missing out if they don’t wanna join me. And yes, Etsy is always a good idea…but it’s gonna make me go broke – I wish I could afford one of your beautiful pieces!

Leave a Reply

